Philanthropic Pearls of Wisdom

By Jackie Scott

Seth Godin had a wonderful blog today  titled
“Selling the benefits of Charity”
http://bit.ly/qFaQZ9

 At the end of his blog post he had a terrific pearl of wisdom that I thought I would share with you.  Now I admit, I am a bit of a hoarder when it comes to “pearls of wisdom” and over the years I have collected quite a few inspirational quotes on scraps of paper that I have tacked to my home office bulletin board.  In addition to the Seth Godin quote below, I have included a few of my own personal favorites.  Please feel free to comment, add your own and share your favorites with me!

 “I think marketers of causes that do good have a long way to go in selling the public on the core reason to give… don’t give because you get a tote bag, or a prize at the charity auction or even a plaque. The scalable unique selling proposition is that being part of the community is worth more than it costs” – Seth Godin

“Of those to whom much is given, much is required.” – John F. Kennedy

“You make a living by what you get, you make a life by what you give” – Winston Churchill

“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” – Mother Theresa

“Americans, Irish people, are good at charity. We like to give, and we give a lot, even those who can’t afford it. But justice is a higher standard.”- Bono

“Celebrity is currency, so I wanted to use mine effectively.”- Bono

“I prefer to be remembered for what I have done for others, not what others have done for me”- Thomas Jefferson

“Each of us must be the change we want to see in the world” – Mahatma Gandhi

“Management is doing things right, leadership is doing the right things”- Peter F. Drucker

“What we have done for ourselves dies alone with us; what we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal” –Albert Pike

“It is only the giving of oneself to others that we truly live” – Ethel Percy Andrus

“The practice of altruism is the authentic way to live as a human being, and it is not just for religious people. As human beings, our purpose is to live meaningful lives, to develop a warm heart. There is meaning in being everyone’s friend. The real source of peace amongst our families, friends and neighbors is love and compassion”. – The Dalai Lama

“A life not lived for others is not a life.”- Mother Theresa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

